Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Where do I start?

Hi all, I would like to purchase a telescope for observing the moon and some of the planets. I am a total beginner. I have got a thread in the equipment help forum but I can't seem to reply?

I saw one of these....Celestron astromaster 130EQ in a shop the other day and it looked like a nice scope, is it any good? Can I connect my canon eos 500d too it? Celestron astromaster 130EQ

Hi dtokez,

In truth I would save some money ( not much more than the 130eq ) and buy a 150p or a 200p Skywatcher dob.

I say this because my first scope was also a 130eq. It has been fine for certain viewing i.e moon etc. but in truth there were a couple of problems with it.

First of all the star pointer isnt too good

secondly the plastic around the leg adjusting thumb screws cracked and wouldn't re-tighten ( with not much pressure may I add )

Also I found it a little tricky and cumbersome to use ( compared to my mates 130p Skywatcher )

Also you will be able to see so much more with the other suggested scopes, and wont be too limited.

If you do want an equatorial newt I'd go for the S/W 130p, it really does seem much better in comparison.

Hope this helps.

I'm with Martin, go for the Dob. Best beginner scopes out there, you get more view for your money that other types. Also, they are spectular but after the moon and the visible planets, you will get bored and went to move on...the Dobs can get you in the ball park for deep space objects.

Hey I have been looking and only joined two days ago. I was looking at a model similar to yourself but was recommended the Sky Watcher 150P or PL for more planetary viewing.

Sounds like these Sky Watchers are pretty good!

Hey I have been looking and only joined two days ago. I was looking at a model similar to yourself but was recommended the Sky Watcher 150P or PL for more planetary viewing.

Sounds like these Sky Watchers are pretty good!