Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

New beginner scopes

Hi everyone.Could anybody advise me on any beginner scopes to avoid (due to being badly made and poor quality).Im thinking in the £150-£200 region.Im wanting a beginner scope and have a fairly good idea of good ones in this price bracket but want to know if there are ones to avoid.If so which ones?.Many thanks.Mark.:)

Rather than list the rotten stuff - let's focus on the good stuff instead (a much shorter list!) :)

I teach this stuff for a living (lucky me!) and everyone starts out with a 150 - 200 mm dob. This is also the scope I've been recommending to new folks for literally decades. I think it is your best buy for many reasons:

1. Light weight, and easy to set up. No winding, no batteries, no cables or computers, no levers and gears. Just point and enjoy the view. A 150mm dob is easy enough for a 10 year old to set up and use. Setup time is 1 minute or less.

2. Great value. You aren't paying for extras you may never use. You pay for great glass and a simple mount. The price of a 6" (150mm) computerized "GoTo" scope can be up to $1500, but for $300 or so, you can get the same aperture and views in a dob.

3. Rugged. I have 12 in service on three campuses and some have been in use for 13 years now - teens use them 40 nights a year and you still can't tell the old ones from the brand new ones!

4. Learn the sky! Computerized stuff is great - but a dob and a star map will help you learn the sky much faster than any computerized gizmo ever will. When you are ready for a bigger, badder scope that will do lots more, you will bring a wealth of experience and knowledge to the job -- and enjoy it all the more for that!

Good luck, and let us know if you have more questions!

Dan