Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

DSO Photography from a suburban setting.

I have been an active amateur astronomer for years, but astro-photography is a new venture for me.

I am trying to capture fainter objects with a Nikon DSLR and an 8 inch F:10 scope from a fairly dark suburban setting. Running at ISO 1000, I am able to take 45 second subs, but when I try stretching the exposures to around one minute or more, the individual exposures just start to take on an orange glow, and a stack 10 or more has a distinct orange cast.

I hear of people taking five to ten minute subs, but I cannot imagine that this is going to be possible without taking the equipment out to some setting a long ways away from town.

Is there any answer to this problem, or am I stuck with taking pictures of the brighter star clusters, planets and the moon ? Something as dim as M101 is almost lost in the skyglow and no amount of processing can separate the arms from the background light level . Help !

Hi Jim,

Taking photos at a high ISO over long periods is going to fill up with light and noise. You need to subtract the light and noise using processing software. When using DSS for stacking, you can use the curves and RGB settings to pull out the detail in your image and darken the background. I dont know how dark your skies are, but unless they are extremely light polluted you should be able to get some detail.

Your scope is also at F10, which is a little slow for imaging. You will have to use much longer subs than a scope at F5 to pull out details. However, there are talented people on this site who get DSOs with webcams so this should not deter you.

Dont worry if your images are bright. Take some darks, get several subs of M101, and stack them in DSS. Play around with the colors and curves in the final image and you will be surprised what you can get from such a bright orange image. Good luck and let us know how you do during your next session.