NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Newbie - First Jupiter Imaging Attempt

PunkJay

Afternoon all,

I made my first attempt at imaging Jupiter last night

Very pleased with the results, but I would welcome any comments suggestions on ways to improve the image. I'm conscious that I probably went overboard with the colour saturation however I could not resist those lovely hues of orange and red :)

punkjay-albums-first-attempt-planetary-imaging-picture13116-jupiter-stack-4-corrected-large-2.jpg

Clear skies,

- Jason

very good for a first attempt :)

im no expert but maybe keep the gain gamma and contrast down next time?

What you see on your laptop before you press the record button is pretty much what you will get out of the image, ie if its out of focus, grainy, too contrasty, it will turn out that way no matter much yuo tweak it with registax.

play around with different settings and see what works best :(

I think it looks good. Like you said, it looks that way because you wanted a heavy color saturation. You could make it look like all other photos, but one reason I like imaging is the different ways people process their photos. I like the orange as well. You will have many more opportunities at Jupiter over the winter. Great job:)