Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

F1 Telescopes

Staypuft

Haven't seen any reviews for these guys, apologies if this has been covered already! As a newb I took a lot of advice from more expert friends, finally settling on a SW 200p (which I am very happy with!). I then researched all the online suppliers I could find (couldn't find a scope shop in or around Southampton - if anybody can point me in the direction?) settling on F1 as they were the cheapest. Ordered Thursday night, new scope arrived Monday morning! Followed by cloudy skies of course. I spoke with them on the phone to confirm delivery arrangements, and was very happy with the service received.

• 5 months later...

I have just had one of the most unhelpful chain of emails ever with F1 Telescopes. I have never dealt with them before and won't be again. I was considering them for the purchase of a dual speed crayford (the replacement for the MN190) and just wanted to check that it came with a base as the adverts suggested this just replaced the existing focusers (so I suspected you might use the existing plate and that the focuser might come only with a body).

here's what was said (I have only removed names):

me

hi there

please can you confirm you supply a base plate with this product?

Sky-Watcher DUAL SPEED 2 inch CRAYFORD FOCUSER for EXPLORER- 90MN MAKSUTOV

NEWTONIAN Telescopes

thanks!

F1 Telescopes reply

Hi,

This focuser is designed as direct replacement for the existing focuser, it

is supplied as one piece unit.

Kind regards

**tried to ring as he was not understanding my question - on lunch.**

me

Thanks

These focusers attach to the base plate with small grub screws, secured by a dovetail on the bottom of the focuser unit. My concern is that based on what you have said, the manufacturer may not supply them with a base plate?

F1

Hi,