Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

School Astronomy

Hi All,

Along with being an overly keen amateur myself, I haves recently been able to combine my hobby and my job, and I will soon be starting an astronomy club along with a new astronomy unit at the secondary school I teach at. Therefore I need to get kitted out (there's nothing better than spending someone elses money!).

I'm in the market for a fairly big (in my my eyes) scope - 10" newtonian for example - that we can use for astrophotography, along with a set of between 5-10 smaller scopes/binoculars for general work. Bearing in mind that as a school, we don't pay VAT, I have around £1000 to spend on the big scope, and am trying to get as big a budget as possible for the smaller kit.

Any advice in selection of equipment, or in introducing a school astronomy club would be massively appreciated.

Many Thanks,

Rich

Hi Rich - Skywatcher Newts are pretty good and within your budget - There's a 250PDS and also the new 250/f4 Quattro which come immediately to mind, but for astrophotography you'd really also need a coma corrector to go with both of those. However, a 250mm OTA is pretty big - You could also look at 200mm versions as well as arguably they're a bit more manageable.

I know you've mentioned you're an overly keen amateur (aren't we all?!), but I'm not sure where your starting point is, so please forgive me if what I'm going to mention below is stating the obvious, but although you've stated you've secured £1k for the main OTA, there's some other bits of kit which could hardly be called "minor".