NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Complete novice needs help with alignment

Hello, i have just bought a Meade Etx-70 with the Autostar controller. I have very little knowledge about which lenses to use etc. I understand the alignment procedure for the telescope ie leveling the scope and pointing North but which lense should i use for the alignment with the 2 chosen stars? i have a 6mm, 9 & 25mm Plossl & 3X Barlow lense. I take it the 3x Barlow goes in first for higher magnification but do i need this for the alignment or do i just use the Plosll lenses?

Any tips please

Thanks

Dont know about the Meades but when I align the Celestron mount I use my 32mm EP at first, centre the target, then drop in the 10mm to get a more accurate centreing. I never have a fail this way.

if you use the barlow it would give you the same magnifacation as a 8mm eyepiece,once you are aligned and running go to saturn look through the 25mm and then pop the barlow in and look again.You will then see what difference the barlow makes.

Dave,

The barlow basically gives you extra magnification. Mine is a 2x version so if you use a 20mm eyepiece with a 2x barlow you effectively get a 10mm, etc.

You are better off using the least magnification for alignment (i.e. the 25mm) as you will get a wider field of view and be able to identify where you are better. Using a higher magnification is very difficult as small movements of the scope translate into large movements through the eyepiece and you could lose tack of your target object very easily.

Hope this helps - I'm quite new to scopes and SGL too. Keep asking the questions they are a very friendly, helpful bunch on here. :)

Cheers

Bill£

I'm afraid I disagree with Bill about lower power ep for aligning. You find the star with low power first, then drop in a higher power to get more accurate centering, as Zog says. The better the initial alignment, the better the accuracy later.