NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Anyone with a Skyliner Flextube 400p Goto?

Hi,

I have a Celestron 8SE and am planning on upgrading to a Skyliner Flextube 400p Goto. 16in.

I understand it is going to be a massive scope.

I can't find any reviews for it online, has anyone here got one? How is the optical quality compared to the smaller skyliner scopes?

Thanks for your help.

:)

It's big... very big. You are well advised to see one in the flesh before buying. But great scope once set up and well collimated - optically they're amongst the best value for money in the commercially produced scopes - you'll get fine and clear views of most anything up there (given good seeing) - but I'm biased - look at OO and Meade LightBridge dobs first so you get a good comparison.

But bang for the buck a big dob is hard to beat :)

Thanks for the fast replies. I am new to viewing the skies. And tbh i mainly do it for pleasure, and its always been my childhood dream to one day have a proper telescope. The 8SE is a great little scope. But it lacks the wow factor for me. Messier's are generally sharpe and clear, but the images of them

Lack the brightness, especially from my back yard.

Being a 'pleasure' viewer i want a scope that will wow me with is views espically when i go to darkish sites in surrey.

I have a van so the size of the 400p wont be a problem.

Ive read lots of 350p reviews, but i just want feedback from an actual 400p ower to cofirm the optics are still decent for their new flagship size scope.

Cant wait to get it. I have serious aperture fever atm!

Hi Pingster

If you wanna look through a 16" scope, Why not come along to one of the Surrey Observers sessions on Ranmore Common ( Nr Dorking ).

I sometimes take my larger scope up there ( if you Pm me to let me know you're coming I'll take the 16").