Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

SW 190-MN Collimation help!

Hello.:D

I started to read and understand more about how the optic really works in a newton. One thing that i first was so confused about is why the secondary mirror in some scopes has to be positioned a bit off-set (diagonal off-set) from the mechanical centre of the tube-centre and the focuser. But i think I start to get a hang of it now.

Anyway, my scope is a brand new Skywatcher 190-MN and I decided to collimate the scope with a laser collimator and the laser is now spot on but the mirror clips still isn`t symmetrical visible.

What to do next? Is it the standard crayford focuser who is not centered over the secondary mirror properly? I really need some advice here as i am a beginner of astronomy and this is my wery first scope!:hello2:

And shouldn`t the secondary mirror have a diagonal off set towards the primary mirror?

I took this photo which i shot thru the 2 mm hole in my collimation cap, it`s a little bit dark but i hope it is useful anyway. see attached photo.

Regards

Gunnar

post-20861-133877625378_thumb.jpg

post-20861-133877625385_thumb.jpg

to me it looks OK but you could tweak the secondary a little so the primary clips are more centred in the secondary reflection - see the left pic. you'd then of course need to re-adjust the primary after doing this.

secondary offset is more usual I think in faster newts so yours being f7.5 will probably not have much or any offset.

collimation can drive you a bit mad sometimes but you are not far away.

Hi moonshane.

It`s a F/5.3 The secondary does have a little offset (away!) from the primary mirror and the primary reflection is nearly at the edge of the secondary as i see it. Isn`t it so that i must move the crayford focuser in a direction away from the primary, so that the secondary will be centered under the focuser at least?