NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Eyepiece Projection

Relpet

Some months ago I asked for advice on a Pentaflex Planetary webcam.  No one had ever heard of it but it turned out to be identical to the Orion Starshoot Solar System Colour Imager.  It was being sold in France for two thirds the prie of the Orion so I bought one.  I'm a beginner.  What did I know?  Complete waste of money in my view.  Lunar images not bad but fiddling around for nights on end trying to catch a wobbly Saturn as it flashes across the laptop screen is a waste of my declining years.  From AstroBuySell some time afterwards I bought, at a good price, a GSO 32mm 1.25" EP which, after unscrewing the eye mount, screws straight into a T-Mount.  A cousin recently lent me a Nikon D5100 which had been lurking at the back of his cupboard and after nearly a month of clouded skies suddenly, last night, I got a chance to put the two bits of kit together.  The EP, sadly, turns out to have a defective compression ring so can't be tightened properly but, neverthless, having climbed a steep learning curve with a dSLR (never used one before) I was pretty thrilled with the results.  However, when I scrabbled around the internet looking for other EPs which offer the same connection I found only GSO 1.25" and 2" versions.  I did, though, discover something called an Eyepiece Projection Camera Adapter which is supposed to accommodate a range of different focal length eyepieces, some of which I probably have.  These adapters are not cheap.  I've already wasted money on the webcam, never mind the laptop to go with it, and sooner or later I may have to buy my own dSLR.  Before I shell out any more of the dwindling pension fund can anyone tell me more about Eyepiece Projection please?  Positive verdicts may get me into serious trouble with the fund manager (my wife) but don't let that stop you.  Negative verdicts, while unfortunate for the makers, may preserve harmony in the household.  MAny th