Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

My Image of Orion Nebula

noideasteve

Hi guys, I'm still fairly new to astrophotography and where i live Orion is nice and high in the sky for me so it's been my main target for learning and i'm having a ball doing it from my back yard!
I've noticed my first images of Orion the centre was very bright and over exposed so i've been working on solving this. Until 4 months ago i had never done photography or had a good telescope so i'm still learning. To get this image i took 4 photographs all at different ISO and Exposure times, each image also has a dark shot applied to it via my camera settings. 
I use a Nikon D5100 camera mounted to my Celestron HD 8" guided using an Orion SSAG and 80mm Short Tube with a Celestron Advanced VX mount. I believe my telescope needs to be collimated as i think it's a little out. 
Any advice to make my photographs better is appreciated, also should i modify my camera? Would it make the image look better? or would it be better to get into photographing using the colour filters?

post-38472-0-09824300-1414208195_thumb.j

Great image after only 4 months - better than my early efforts.

You say that you took 4 images. First I suggest that you take way more images for stacking. You should take them at varying exposures so that you get a mixture of the centre being exposed correctly and the nebulosity being exposed correctly. You can then combine them so that the centre is not burnt out. I would not use colour filters as this will give false colour to your images.

I think that you just need to get more data to improve your images. I use a Canon so cannot comment on the camera.

Peter