NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Mak 127 or 100 ed

I am still in the age old quandry of which telescope to buy. I have been a member of this site for about six months and have asked many questions - I am still yet to make a decision.

I was settled on the skywatcher mak 127 as I like the idea of planetary viewing. I was just waiting on selling a surround sound system (space issues at home - no pun intended) and then I could happily store the scope.

However I recently noticed the Celestron 100ED scope for sale in the FLO section and was immediately drawn to how gorgeous it looked. I asked a couple of questions and it seems that this scope could also be one that would suit my planetary needs. Do any of you have any opinions on how well this scope deals with the planets? I don't even know if they appear in colour - I have never used a scope before.

Anyway, I then happened across a skywatcher equinox 100. This looks to all intents and purposes as the same scope as the 100ed - but a little smaller (good for me as I live in the big smoke). Do any of you know what the differences between the two are? Is it just manufacturing quality and a nicer focuser?

I am at a loss as to what to do (i'm not very good at making decisions). Any help whatsoever will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Steve

I believe that the 100ED and the Equinox 100 share the same optics. It's the mechanicals that are more "polished" with the Equinox.