Help choosing a good telescope for begginers

I'm new to this site but I have been doing astroomy for a few months now and have learned the constelations and used binoculars but I am totally new to telescopes. I was hopng someone could explain the types of telescopes and those numbers that you see when looking to buy telescopes. Also would it be better to have a computerised one and what other equipment would I need? :) So basically could someone take me through the process of buying my first telescope:) and explain the confusing stuff?

right scott, first you need to decide if you want to observe or do imaging, be warned imaging can be very costly!

there is 3 main types of scope...refractor, reflector and maksutov. If you choose visual observing a good scope would be a dobsonian refrlector, 150mm or even better 200mm.

The first thing you need to decide is what do you wish to see planets, dso's or both. next you need to decide how portable does it need to be for your needs. a bigger scope gives better views but if you can't lift it or it needs to go in the car the biggest may not be best for you. the next thing to decide is budget. this will determine whether to buy new or 2nd hand some people would never consider 2nd hand as they like the security of a guarantee or don't want to wait for however long it takes for that ideal used scope to come up for sale others like someone one else to take the hit of depreciation and don't consider a lack of guarantee a problem as most astronomers look after their gear. come back with your thoughts on what you want to see, what sort of location you are at. How much you want to spend etc and I guarantee the suggestions will come in thick and fast for you. And perhaps most importantly welcome to sgl

Right so thanks for all the replies. They have been realy helpful :icon_eek:

I want to be able to see planets but also DSO's

I live in the country and I have got plenty space