NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

help with philips spc 900nc cam

Hi there all, i bought the spc 880 kit flashed to 900nc from Morgans, i put the camera in the focuser and i cant get a image, just blackness! the camera is working, but do i need a barlow? or what setting do i need in sharpcap? i am using. I tried it at the moon, very disappointed. I am using it on a heritage 130p. even tried reducing the focal length of the tube. yours Paul.

Hi

I think there are many of us in the same boat, here's some advice i've given on the subject myself though I am really a newbie to it, but I am slowly managing to capture the occasional useable image-

After my first disastrous attempt when I could see nothing, I got my scope out on Saturday afternoon and focussed it on some treetops and then put in webcam and realised that what the cam picked up was not what I saw through the EP. It all came down to alignment - so I centred object in a 25mm EP - then used a 15mm EP re centred and then again with a 9mm - re centred and then I found that my laptop was seeing the same as the cam.

I also practised focussing and realised again that I didn't have to re adjust the focus "too" much - I think the night before I'd turned the focussing so far that I was miles out. When trying again, any more than 2 or 3 twists on the focus knob meant that I wasn't lined up properly.

Did you try getting something like the pleiades which obviously has loads more stars in close proximity to each other so you may "stumble" across one?

Anyway, good luck, I hope I've helped and it's not the blind leading the blind - let me know how you get on!

There's a fair bit to be said, some of which has been metioned but, think of your w/cam in terms of a short focal length eyepiece to start with.

Your scope and finderscope need to be pretty well co-aligned to help.