Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hello guys and girls;

I am looking to buy a new scope for sky watching and some photography. My question is which would be the better buy a Reflector or a Maksutov-cassegrain? budget is not limitless so maybe only looking to go to about 130mm aperture. Not too bothered about massive magnification as detail would be what I am after.

Regrds

Gordon

Hi Gordon

I cant comment on Maks because i've never used one.

However

The SkyWatcher Explorer 130P (reflector) seems to be a very very popular scope for a first scope and is highly regarded by a great number of people.

Of course for imaging you would need it to be on an EQ (equatorial) mount rather then an Alt-Az mount.

I have a SW Heritage 130P (same optics as the Explorer 130P) and can vouch for its quality.

I'm NO expert but i am as happy as Larry (whoever Larry is) with the 130P.

hi Lukeskywalker :)

I have been looking at the skywatcher 130P also the 130M which has the motor drive which for imaging would be a must I would think. Can you explain the differences between the alt-az and eq mount plz, not quite up to speed on that side of it.

Ta!

Gordon

Im just a begginer but as I understand it the alt az is logical, left right and up and down but it is not related to the movement of the stars. The eq is different it follows the axis of the earth, so as the stars appear to spin around polaris it tracks that path and keeps the relevant object in view.

Hi,

An ALT/AZ mount moves up and down. The stars however move in an arc.

The equatorial mount replicates the arc to enable accurate tracking.

Are you interested in the moon/planets or deep sky objects? As this makes quite a difference in the choice of scope...

Cheers

Ant