SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Procyon - Did I see it?

Adie

Hi all, just after a bit of clarification as to something I saw whilst observing in my back garden...

So, I'm a relative newbie and I'm using a Leicia Televid 77 with a 60x occular attached. I was viewing the Moon and Jupiter before it set for about 1/2 and gave M42 a bash. The sky was quite bright, however I think I saw it very faintly.

I moved the scope to a bright star, in the south, levelish with Orion's belt and, at an arms length just over a hands bredth to the left. It wasn't Sirius as I could see that lower in the sky.

It wasn't an intentional target, more something else to view before my dinner was ready!!!!

When viewed through the scope, I saw a greenish blob that looked like a disco light with a distinct orange corona. I can only describe it as looking as if it was on fire.

I spent about 20 minutes watching it, more thinking "What the chuff is that???!" I fired up Stellarium to see, and a bit of research into what it could be.... Procyon is what I've narrowed it down to, given that it's a white dwarf.

Has anyone else here viewed it and can help at all??! Thanks.

Yeah, that sounds about right. I can see it now out of my lounge, not quite in line with Betelgeuse but down slightly and to the left.

I was more inquisitive as it was very distinctive through the scope, quite striking actually and very unexpected really.

Thanks again.

Now I'm confused! I've left the scope up ready to see Saturn in around an hour, but I thought I'd go see if I could see what I thought I did and make a sketch. I live in a really light polluted are and moved the scope to Procyon in the south west as it's moved and I can't find what I saw earlier now, as that whole region of sky has moved into the moons glow much more predominantly.