What's the catch with this?

Hello,

Im a total newbie, im interested in buying a scope with the aim of doing astrophotography. I've been looking around a fair bit and i'm starting to focus towards the Celestron C8 XLT and a NEQ6 Pro mount with GOTO, over £2000 for both. However it's going to be a while before im in a position to buy anything, which im taking as a good thing, it'll stop me from rushing in. Anyway, I was looking on ebay and I found this, SKYWATCHER EXPLORER 300PDS NEQ6 Pro SynScan (222/854) on eBay (end time 22-Feb-11 16:23:07 GMT)

A 12" Newtonian reflector with NEQ6 Pro GOTO mount for £1399. That's about £700 cheaper. I know it's a different type scope from the Celestron but is it £700 worse? Considering the mount can cost £1000 on it's own, is this a cheap and nasty scope on top of a decent mount?

NB:I hope to start taking photos of the moon and planets and then move onto DSO's

It's a newtonian on an equatorial mount. Different design of scope altogether from the C8 that you were looking at. No catch but a huge scope to handle - too much for many I've heard !.

The 12" aperture will mean that it can see fainter objects and resolve more detail than the C8 so it's performance will actually be better.

Do do lots of research before rushing into buying anything - there are loads of excellent options in that price bracket but they need careful consideration. I would also plan to buy from a proper astro dealer such as First Light Optics rather than though an unknown e.bay retailer.

Welcome to SGL by the way !.

Nope - the 300 will be a good scope BUT a lot of these get sold 2nd hand. The reason being is they are too big for most people. Lots of beginners dive in and buy the biggest thing they can see then find out that its completely beyond them in terms of size, weight and even complexity.

I just acquired a 10" scope off someone and even a 10" scope is a monster. Your talking about a tube thats so heavy I cant lift it onto its mount solo.