What telescope to buy?

Hello ladies and gents.

Well i'll start off by saying i'm new to the whole astronomy shindig, so as such have absolutly no idea what telescope i need or want. this is where you guys who know whats what come in handy.

I'd like something that i can use for viewing and after a while astrophotography, do i deed a refractor, newt, dob? or any of the other type's available.

From the research i've done thus far i gather that the mount will be crucial if i intend on eventually going into astrophitography. but other than that i have no idea.

Any and all advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Mark

Hi mark, if you are sure that astrophotography is the way you want to this book may help you along the way. it will tell you what sort of equipment you need and how to go about using it. Books - Making Every Photon Count - Steve Richards. If you read that first you will have a better idea of what questions to ask. different telescopes have different attributes , strengths and weaknesess. consequently we will need to know a lot more info, what sort of things will you be photographing. how portable does it need to be and most importantly what sort of budget you have at your disposal. It isn't quite as simple as sticking a camera on the end of a scope.( although with some targets it is ) I would suggest you learn a little about visual astronomy first this will give you some of the knowledge to build on later. But of course this depends on your patience . I won't reccommend a scope till you are sure of whatr sort of. budget you have. If you are determined to do imaging of dso's this is the first thing you should budget for . as most imagers suggest it to be the minimum mount Skywatcher - Skywatcher HEQ5 SynTrek

Hi Rowan.

I ordered "making every photon count" earlier this evening, hopefully it'll be here in a day or 2.