Prepare to laugh

Right guys, I've been using my telescope as much as I can recently. Unfortunately for me, the best "clear" nights have happened when I was at work... typical eh? Anyhow, I am gonna show my complete noobish-ness by asking what I feel is a really stupid question but one I can not work out for myself, please be gentle with me and try not to laugh too much!!!! :)

I actually haven't set up my "view finder" scope on my telescope yet, I have been manually searching for stuff. Well on my first attempt I actually couldn't find the moon, until I realised everything was inverted in the scope (I never knew, but makes some sense). Anyhow I was bought a telescope from Argos so you can imagine what it is like, it wasn't the National Geographic one, thankfully. Anyhow, the "view finder" is basically like a child's toy telescope and the view out of it is just as shocking. One way I can make out a cross-hairs but sod all else, and the other way absolutely nothing at all. Now I'm going to use my powerful abilities of deduction and guess the cross-hairs way is the correct way it should be aligned. But do they need to be focused? Is the lenses the wrong way round? Am I just being stupid? It's starting to annoy me now because I am really looking forward to seeing something other than the moon or a bright white dot.

I hope I have placed this in the right section, but I couldn't find a section entitled "For Stupid people!" :)

Thanking in advanced for the help/rib digging ;)

Dazz

1, Focus your finder scope so that you can see toward the rear end of your telescope. To do this, loosen the locking ring by unscrewing it toward the bracket. Turn the front lens holder in and out to focus appropriately. Lock it in position with the ring once you gain the focus.

2,Choose an object at least 500 yards away from the main telescope and point the instrument at it. Adjust the telescope so that the object can be viewed at the center of your eyepiece.