Astrophotography Question: Zoom eyepiece for dslr camera & t mount?

Hi folks, I'm very new to astrophotography. I'd like to take some photos of planets with my dslr camera. At present I'm attaching my camera to the x2 Barlow Lens using the t mount system. This isn't giving me enough magnification.

I've been looking at the Digimax Zoom Projection system 7-21mm which can be attached to my camera ('Scopes n Skies' website). However after looking around on the internet, it doesnt get very good reviews with most people recommending an 8-24mm zoom eyepiece. My question is, where can I find an 8-24mm zoom eyepiece that can attach to a camera? Are there specific zoom eyepieces for attaching to t mounts? I'd be very grateful for some advice! Many thanks.

I would consider spending a few quid on one of these Cheap Philips SPC880 webcam - 49269 - discounts & offers

and then buy one of these Adaptors - 1.25" nosepiece to webcam lens thread (ToUcam Pro SPC900NC)

then you will find that you get a much better image of the planets.

a webcam has a chip that is aprox 6mm diagonal where a DSLR has a chip that is MUCH larger, thus the planet appears very small.

Yeah + 1 for the cheap but great webcam vote. I have just bought one myself Carla. I have been having the same issues as yourself (check my sig for some of my images like planets).

I dont think you get a good zoom if you buy cheap and connecting the DSLR through longer barlows is not ideal.

What kind of thing are you wanting to photograph? The rough rule is DSLR for wider angle shots, webcam for specific planetary etc and CCD camera for serious stuff.

HTH

Adam

Thanks for all the advice, it's very helpful. Have purchased the webcam as advised as I'm mainly interested in photographing the planets to start off with. Then I'll try some deep space photography with the DSLR if I get the hang of it all..

Carla