Seasoned astronomer but techy newbie - help!

Hullo.

I'm thinking of changing my telescope. I've had a 10" dobsonian for fifteen years

and although I love the thing. I'm thinking of getting a smaller telescope I

can take out into the country. Perhaps guided, I'm looking to spend

£500-£800. Perhaps even more for the right scope.

I'm coming at it from the angle - I hardly use the Dob because it's not

portable, and has to be kept at my parent's house 5 mile away. And even

there (5 miles from Wolverhampton) the light pollution is a pain. If I get a

smaller portable scope I can take out in the country, I'll not get the same

light gathering capacity perhaps as my 10" Dob (with 52" f/l), but I'll see

lots more because, well, I'll use it more. And I can take photos if it's

guided.

I know the sky well, but when it comes to digital astrophotography, I'm a newbie. I look at the fabulous images some people take and I'm green with envy.

I've not looked for telescopes for years, and I don't know what's out there. And I expect things have changed so much with the digital era.

Appreciate any advice. I don't want one where you dial in co-ordinates, I

like map reading & star hopping. But I would like one guided. So my criteria -

1) spending £500-£800

2) All round scope, planets and deep sky.

3) Needs to be guided.

4) Size. . I've got a van. It can be big, but not too big.

5) Needs independent power for the guide. I'll be hunting out dark sky sites.

I bet I'll have to buy a new camera too . . hmm. I've got a digital camera but I'll bet it's not suited for astrophotography. How does one hook up a camera to a scope, would I need am SLR?

I'm off uptown to get Astronomy mags now. I'm getting excited!

--

http://www.suaveharv.com/weblog.htm

• Replies 59
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Harv,

Welcome to the forum.