NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

'scope storage in shed?

I am new to using a 'scope, and, having looked back through the threads it seems that people's opinion is that it is OK to store 'scopes in a shed.

However, having left my 'scope (on mount and tripod) in a shed for a couple of nights I happened to notice that there was condensation on the weight mount bar (everything else seemed fairly dry).

Is this normal? Should I worry? Would I be better storing the OTA inside?

Just wanting a little reassurance that I am not harming my 'scope, or, be told to "take her inside" for safe keeping.

Thanks in advance.

personally, I keep both my dobs in the house. it means I have to leave them a bit longer to cool and carry them out each time I observe, but your experiences are what would bother me. many though keep their gear in a garage/shed/observatory so they'll advise too hopefully.

I hope this thread is picked up and discussed by some 'in the know' types as well, because i would like to put my scope 'outside for the summer' it would be in a shed, but still in a pretty exposed location. In my case its more for a peaceful life because 'The Ministry of the Interior' keeps saying its in the way in the dining room!!!

In my case its more for a peaceful life because 'The Ministry of the Interior' keeps saying its in the way in the dining room!!!

I know that feeling :-) Pretty much the reason I was wanting to keep it in the shed.