Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

First Telescope!

At last after much delay my first telescope has arrived!

I plumped for a a Skywaycher Heritage 130P Dobsonian

Reflectors - Skywatcher Heritage 130p Flextube

Can't wait to set it up and use it but I've 2 5yr olds fussing around and it's blumming cloudy anyway!

Any advice at what I should start off looking for? I'm quite excited so check out the planets and I've always found the Moon fascinating.

Sounds to me like the first thing you need is a fence around your scope with a locked gate......

Sorry mate cant help as im new to all this myself, but im sure you will get some good advice on here.

Clear skies

Dave

I think a fence is a great idea Dave, it's eliciting a little too much attention at the moment!

Any advice at what I should start off looking for? I'm quite excited so check out the planets and I've always found the Moon fascinating.

You could always look for Jupiter. It's very easy to spot on a clear night. Or you could try to find Saturn, Which will appear very early in the mornings, I have yet not seen Saturn due to clouds. But Jupiter is an easy bet for you.

You could always look for Jupiter. It's very easy to spot on a clear night. Or you could try to find Saturn, Which will appear very early in the mornings, I have yet not seen Saturn due to clouds. But Jupiter is an easy bet for you.

Thanks Lurker!

Will I be able to make out Saturn's rings and/or the colours of Jupiter with my scope?

If you get a clear night soon you could try for jupiter. It's bright enough to be easy to find. It'll be very small, but you should be able to make out some bands I'd have thought.

Could also have a peek at the orion nebular also very easy to find.

Finding things is probably the biggest thing that causes people to lose interest. The sky seems very empty if you don't know were you should be looking.