NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Telescope slewing in the wrong direction

Hi all a newbie here, my son got a Meade starnavigator 102 from Santa, i aligned it to the 2 star method and put in Edinburgh as my nearest city, tonight we had a look at the sky and we saw the crescent moon ok and i think we saw Jupiter, but when we use the autostar it was well off direction when we entered the moon, any help would be appreciated. We are in Aberdeen , Scotland if that helps.

Thanks in advance,

Mike, Aberdeen.:)

I'm guessing that your original alignment may be incorrect. Did you use 2 really obvious stars that you are familiar with? My experience with meade autostar is that it is usually fairly good, but only if you get it right from the beginning. You need to start with the scope pointing north (as accurately as you can) and absolutely level. Then do the 2 star align on things you are 100% sure of (maybe Rigel at the top of Orion and Vega). Have you got the date and time properly entered. Some of these goto scope hand controls have the date in US format MM-DD-YY just to confuse you. If that doesn't work, you have a problem.

thanks for your reply, i guess its the american thing, we just tried a quick alignment as we didn't really know anything about stars etc, can i reset it to factory defaults and start again, we are totally new to this so we just went with what the scope said.

As Slangers said, the time is important. If in any doubt about BST and GMT, select GMT in the menus and look up the GMT time on the internet.

But as you say you're using Autostar to slew to the moon, this suggests you had an "Alignment Successful" message?

In which case something else is to blame for the innacuracy, such as loose clutches on the axes, or using too much magnification - Autostar should get you in the ballpark with a long focal length eyepiece.

Does it find Jupiter but is out on the moon?

Cheers

Michael

Guessing it is the location that is the problem.