Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Controlling your telescope via PC

burf2000

Since watching Stargazer live (I very new) I am getting some crazy idea's. Primarly I am a software developer who had a bit of a hobby building computer controllered robots out of Lego (NXT's and advance sensors) and the odd search engine (This is based on my lust for data)!

Anyway, I got a telescope for xmas because I am of course interested in the sky and like the idea of controlling it from my PC (Its has a Sky-Watcher SynScan AZ GoTo which can be controlled via Stellarium (NexStar protocol))

However I want to remotely control it, now of course it would be fitted with a webcam and thats pretty simple to stream but has anyone (sure you have) written anything to removely control the scope? Could be great fun

:eek:

I control my scope with EQMOD and when webcamming planets I often control the setup from the warm inside my house by using to VNC to control a small netbook at the scope. No new software required for that though.

I have also heard talk of wireless USB being used to control the scope and cameras remotely. I have never tried this myself.

Cheers,

Chris

Yup I've seen scope control and imaging being done over wireless usb simultaneously and broadcasting to a tv monitor. Saw some smashing live views of the sombrero galaxy on screen. It was using either Minitron or Watec cameras - can't remember which :)

Hi burf and welcome to SGL

I am also looking to do something similar, but I am looking to write apps in Python to control my setup

here are some links that I have found to control my Webcam

VideoCapture - A Win32 Python Extension for Accessing Video Devices (e.g. a USB WebCam, a TV-Card, ...)

WebCamSpy - Python Webcam server

technobabbler Blog Archive drive a webcam with python

hope this helps

cheers