SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Light box for SW 200P

Bizibilder

I've just started to make a light box for taking flats for my Skywatcher 200P. The construction is conventional, using foam board and an opal perspex diffuser. The light source will be four bright white LED's and it will have a brightness control. I've included a few pics of progress so far: Most work is simple pencil/ruler/scalpel cutting of the foam. I used a couple of jewellers piercing saws to cut the perspex - though you could use a hacksaw and lots of abrasive paper instead! The final pic is of all the basic parts of the box which will be 28 x 28 x 42cm the whole thing being cut from four sheets of A2 foamboard.

post-17157-13387750384_thumb.jpg

post-17157-133877503842_thumb.jpg

post-17157-133877503844_thumb.jpg

• Replies 40
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Further progress and first "light"!! It seems to work, which has surprised me as I'm no electrician, even if the box has only three sides at the moment.

I've had a thought though...... HOW do you calibrate the box to see if the illumination is even??

Ive had a "looksee" in PS and wherever I click with the "sample" dropper tool I get the same RGB values (within +/- 1 across the "disc")

It looks OK with the naked eye but that is far from a good method!! The pics show a "close up" and a general view of the box so far (sorry about the bits of wire!!)

post-17157-133877508171_thumb.jpg

post-17157-133877508174_thumb.jpg

Hi Bizibilder - nice project there - could you post the wiring diagram for it please - I know I could probably find one online but yours looks nice and simple and you've obviously got it working.

Thanks in anticipation

John

If you could pm me that would be great

I will post it for you John but you will need to wait a while!