Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

IC59 & 63 in Cassiopeia

martin_h

This is my first attempt at Ha imaging with the QHY8...After much searching and reading on the subject I've come up with this effort.

There is about 5 hours of RGB data but only about 2 hours of Ha, so I stripped the red channel from the RGB and combined it with the Ha to make HaR the recombined it with the original RGB. So we have HaR-RGB.

Any/all comments tips etc.......

post-16950-133877502575_thumb.jpg

You have a lot of cyan in there. I suspect the problem arose when you combined the Ha with the red. This image looks like an HaGB shot. Worth trying a different method. Process your RGB and Ha seperately. Don't complete the full Ha stretch. When processing the RGB leave the histogram some way over to the right i.e. don't fully adjust the black point. Make a duplicate of the RGB and use soft light as the blend mode. Adust the opacity to taste (remembering you can play around with this further when you add the Ha). The soft light will enhance saturation and allow the star colour to show through the Ha layer.

Add the Ha layer and use lighten as the blend mode. You will now need to finish the histogram stretch to get the blend to suit.

You can also add an ha luminence by doing a straight luminence process (don't over do the stretching though) and add to your colour image using luminosity as the blend mode. This will have the effect of desaturating you image a little and turning the red to a salmon colour. To reduce this you will need to turn down the opacity until you are happy with the result.

There is a lot of playing around to do between the levels but this method gives you a lot of control.