SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

first real scope

I'm relatively new to all this so, be gentle.

I've been trying to decide which scope to invest in. I had all but parted with the cash for a 200P on an eq5, then suddenly a 200p dob came up at the right price and in the right place.

Can't wait to get out there and can you believe it, clear skies.

What would you all advise as the little things that will improve my viewing (flock the tube, fan, new eyepeices)

Is there anything else a can improve on?

Am i correct in thinking that i could put this could be put on a eq5 at a later date?

You can definitely put the 200p on an EQ stand at a later date, just need to buy some tube rings which are relatively cheap. An eq5 or a cg5 will do the trick.

I expect the 200p you have bought will have a fairly 'fast' focal ratio (f6 if it is the Skyliner) and so will benefit from more expensive lenses.

I'm not sure about the other modifications since I don't have a newtonian but my advice is to try to be patient and hold of doing anything like that until you've had the scope for a while and had a chance to test it out unmodified.

Actually the dob, at F/6, is more tolerant of lower cost eyepieces than the F/5 EQ mounted version. It's also a bit easier to collimate and stays collimated slightly better.

An EQ5 in the future might be just about OK for visual use but an HEQ5 would be better - an 8" F/6 tube is pretty substantial.

As gareththegreek says, I'd suggest holding off from getting accessories etc until you have some expereinece with the scope - they work pretty well "out of the box".

Yeah a real result. 2years old, immaculate, 1/2 price

So i've got a little spare cash for goodies. I think a new eyepeice and a 2 x barlow for starters.

Any ideas?

Thanks