NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Complete newbie seeking advice.

Its a tough call because there are so many issues involved. Can I be lazy and say read an article of mine to save me having to type it all out again....

So you want to buy a telescope ? - Part 1

In a nutshell before you decide ona scope you need to decide on factors like, where will you use it, how much weight can you shift/want to shift, do you need to transport it or use from back garden, how much time do you have for the hobby etc etc etc

One thing to bear in mind is a lot of this stuff is fgar bigger and heavier than you may imagine looking at pictures - hope the article helps refine your search.

Hi and welcome,

My advice would be to avoid Goto and spend the extra on aperture and some decent eyepieces. Trust me, Goto is a great idea but I quickly found myself using it less and less. I now only use my Goto mount for its tracking function because of webcam imaging.

The Goto cost will eat into your budget and force you to go for less aperture...you will be "going to" objects that the telescopes limitations won't allow you to see anyway.

Start by learning what's there with the naked eye (Jupiter,Moon etc) and then learn a couple of the major constellations which will guide you towards the Orion Nebular and Andromeda for example. It's not as daunting as it sounds and you will learn lots in a very short time.