NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

hi i'm new to all this and would like some tips

hi everyone, i'm new to this, i have a scope, its 76mm diameter reflecter, not too expensive, got it few yrs ago from lidl but never had time to get it out, now i can and i'm very interested but i have no idea where to start. i had it out tonight as the sky is so clear but i'm having trouble adjusting it, i see through the finderscope but see nothing in the main one. is there any tips anyone can give me, i have no idea where to look either. all comments welcome =)

Hi,

Do you have some eyepieces with the scope ?

If you do, I'd suggest using the one with the highest number in mm on it (example: 20mm). This gives the lowest magnification with the scope but thats good for getting used to it.

You also need to align the finder scope with the main scope (ie: make sure thay are both pointing exactly in the same direction). Do this in daytime with a distant object such as a church spire, telegraph pole etc - it needs to be at least a couple of hundred meters away. Get your object in the main scope with the lowest magnification eyepiece (see above) then adjust the finder, using the screws that tilt it, so that the finder is looking at the same object.

Then you can point the scope at night using the finder and have some confidence that the scope is pointing at the same thing finder is.

"Where to look" - get a copy of Sky at Night for a monthly description of what's up. This is a great place to start learning where everything is and it builds your knowledge nicely over a year.

Finding the stuff is easy - download a copy of "Stellarium" - it's free and you can search for the object you want to view.