Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Advice for beginner

I put this in imaging but think it,s better here

Hello to everyone,

this is my first posting and to say I am a beginner is an understatement!

I have always had a basic interest in astronomy and photography and would like to combine the two.

I am finding my way round the sky with binoculars and have photographed the moon with my Canon 40D and 100-400 lens, but want to move on from that. I am willing to invest in a telescope and mount but need some advice.

The two questions are :-

1. Is decent imaging possible from my light polluted yorkshire garden?

2. I would like to obtain equipment which is portable enough to use both at home and take to my static caravan on the North Norfolk coast, boy is that sky dark!

hi,

a dark site is needed to justify expensive astrophotography equipment,

do you know the night sky? perhaps get a scope that you can later upgrade, learn what is where, make sure you enjoy it, then you can spend £500-1000 getting your astrophotography equipment

personally ive never bothered with it as the cost is way too high

rich

I use my Celestron C8, which is a very compact 8" aperture design both from my back garden in the city of Groningen in the Netherlands (so quite a bit of light polution), and outside the city whenever I really want to go "deep sky". It slings into the back of a car easily. I even took it with me on holidays in the back of our little Peugeot 106 to see the eclipse in 1999 from France. The car was full of camping gear, but the scope fitted in there without problems.

Imaging planets and the moon with such a "Schmidt-Cassegrain" or the similar Maksutov-Cassegrain designs is easy, even from the city. For deep sky imaging (which is harder from the city) you would need a focal reducer (or better still a fast refractor). Deep sky imaging is WAY harder than planetary in my experience.