NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Dumb questions - yet again

I know (looks slightly embarrased). Here he is again with daft questions but please indulge me...

1. I have an EQ3 mount on my 150 newtonian. I'm guessing a bigger scope (say 250) would need a more robust mount?

2. Would a skywatcher 250px dobsonian, with auto tracking, be suitable for imaging in the future?

3. Am I annoying everyone with my continual questions?:)

I know (looks slightly embarrased). Here he is again with daft questions but please indulge me... there are no daft questions. And rest assured there will be others before and after you wondering the same things you will be! I'm still a relative newb compared with most on here but here's my thoughts.

1. I have an EQ3 mount on my 150 newtonian. I'm guessing a bigger scope (say 250) would need a more robust mount? Definitely. Most manufacturers seem to put scopes with mounts that can only just hold the scope they are selling them with. You'd need a substantial mount (probably about £300-500 used plus tripod) to cope with a 250 and if you went to a 300 you'd need to spend even more.

2. Would a skywatcher 250px dobsonian, with auto tracking, be suitable for imaging in the future? I'd suggest it would be fine for webcam imaging of planets/moon and for prime focus DSLR of the moon but not for DSOs. You'd again need to spend maybe £600 at least on just a mount for DSOs. I'm not an imager, this is just what I have read on other posts.

3. Am I annoying everyone with my continual questions?:)definitely not!

Hope the above helps. Personally, I would only say that you should image if you have one scope for imaging and one scope for observing. I tried a few moon shots but found that I missed seeing what was going on through the eyepiece so have not followed the photography path (despite being well into other forms of photography).

Cheers

Shane