NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Any Nikon Coolpix Users out there ?

Polar Bear

I am currently having fun modifying some cheap web cams and also considering modifying some inexpensive Nikon Coolpix 990's . I am conversant with the spec and I am an experienced photographer both with film and digital.

Does anybody on the forum use them ? I have already looked at sites on the web.

I would like some idea of noise problems and whether anyone has done the following

fitted cooling

removed the lens

used the remote capture software.

Paul :)

Hi Paul,

Yes, I’ve used a 990. I can tell you they are a bit noisy and normally have a few hot pixels. Just what you’d expect for the age but they are not a hopeless case, especially if you have one or can get one for free.

There are remote and noise software solutions but as I’m just about to go out I’ll have to get back to you later.

I’ve taken a 995 apart and the slip glass does come out. I’ve not taken the lens off or tried cooling.

Here is a fish eye photo taken to show the light pollution in my back garden. Coolpix 990 and dark subtracted.

Dave.

post-13139-133877467736_thumb.jpg

Hi Paul,

Yes, I’ve used a 990. I can tell you they are a bit noisy and normally have a few hot pixels. Just what you’d expect for the age but they are not a hopeless case, especially if you have one or can get one for free.

There are remote and noise software solutions but as I’m just about to go out I’ll have to get back to you later.

I’ve taken a 995 apart and the slip glass does come out. I’ve not taken the lens off or tried cooling.

Here is a fish eye photo taken to show the light pollution in my back garden. Coolpix 990 and dark subtracted.

Dave.

Hi Dave