Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Great skies!!

RRD

Hi all!

I am quite new to astronomy and, with the British weather, I always think I took up the wrong hobby for my location ;) What is more, I got my first scope quite recently and now, with the summer here, I don't quite find the time to use it (it might sound weird, but I am actually looking forward to winter lately :)). Anyway, I was on holidays last week, and I went back home to the South of Spain. I couldn't take my 6" Dob with me, but I did take my good old 7x50s, just in case I could find a dark spot to look at the sky. That occasion presented itself when I went to my mum's town for a couple of days. I don't know if many of you are familiar with Spain's geography, but she comes from a remote village on the South side of Sierra Nevada, at about 3000 metres above sea level and almost completely isolated. One night, I decided to climb up to the rooftop just after midnight, and the view of the sky almost made me fall down the stairs again: it was like being at the planetarium!! My girlfriend, who decided to accompany me for a little while, exclaimed: "I have never seen more stars in my life!" It was absolutely delightful, with stunning views of the Milky Way, Sagittarius and Scorpio (my targets for the viewing sessions). Just a quick swipe of the binoculars around these two constellations was enough to reveal tons of DSOs (even if only fuzzy patches) that I had never been able to locate from light-polluted Bristol even with my scope. The view of the Lagoon and Trifid nebulae in particular made my jaw drop everytime I happened to look at them. I just wish I had had my scope with me. I probably would still be there, glued to the eyepiece!

Thanks for reading!

Diego