Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Thinking of getting Solarscope

Hi all,

Well things have not been going well for the moment. I recently moved house (Out of Gateshead and into a darker area south of Durham) The house I bought is part of a 20 house building project. What I didn't know is that on a night they have 2 LARGE arc lights lighting up the place and stopping me doing any decent observing :D I have asked how long they will be there and the responce.... about 2 years:eek:

So I have been thinking of putting my telescope to one side and buying a solar scope. I have enjoyed looking at the sun in white light with Baader Solar Filter. I am still new to this and have a lot to learn, but I have a lot of time as from what I have seen solar scopes are not cheap (so will take me a while to save up)

From reading it seems my options are a PST or Lunt. Now this is where I get a bit lost. Some poeople say PST's are better and other say Lunt's are better. Can anyone help me. Also can both of these do both Cak and HA as I want to get the most out of what I buy.

Thanks

Some poeople say PST's are better and other say Lunt's are better. Can anyone help me. Also can both of these do both Cak and HA as I want to get the most out of what I buy.

If you want to do both .... buy a Lunt Ha 60mm scope and a CaK diagonal. The cheaper scopes are not modular.

Not a lot of difference between Lunt & Coronado at the same price point. Lunt seem to be more available these days. Just about the only Coronado product you can actually buy is the basic Ha PST.

Thanks for the info so far. I think I am going to go down the Lunt route. New or secondhand I am not sure yet.

As has been pointed out to do both CaK and HA you need two diagonals (I assume these are the wedge shaped bits at the end of the scope. Do I have to get ones that are made specifically for the Lunt model I go for?