Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

New Orion SkyQuest XT8 Dobsonian

I received the scope on June 1st and assembled it today, June 3. It took about an hour and a half, with no complications. It may not be perfectly collimated, but being a novice I'm not in a hurry to start moving things around. The leaves on a tree about 1/4 mile away seemed clear enough.

Of course, I wanted to try it out tonight, but there's a thin overcast. Acturus, Spica, Saturn, Mars and Regulus are visible through the haze, but at 10 PM local, that was about it. I can barely see Ursa Major. To avoid frustration and disappointment, I decided to wait for "first light."

One question for you veterans, however. When I was looking through the collimation eyepiece, I noticed specks of what I assume is dust at the 1 o'clock position of the secondary mirror (I think). This evening I was inspecting the main mirror with a red light and noticed what appears to me a good number of flecks of dust all over it. These weren't visible without a very bright flashlight (torch). While acknowledging nothing is perfect, I am rather fussy after having spent so much coin. Is this dust issue something to be concerned with or should I just let it go?

Thanks in advance.

You should leave it alone as it won't affect the image. They just reduce the amount of light gathered by a tiny fraction. Eventually in time you'll want to clean but thats a delicate work you should leave for later.

You may want to check the dust cover. I have the orion XT8i and the dust cover scratched the inside paint job and covered my primary with the scraps. The 2 scopes have some differences but this may well be the cause. Aside that minor design flaw, it's an excellent scope.

I broke the clips on my dust cover. Now I fit it on and then I put a home made cloth with rubbers (or whatever they are called in English) over it to secure it in place, as it haves no clips now.

Your mirrors will slowly get dirty - don't worry about it.