NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Hi!

ScottW

Hi all,

Complete newby here. Have wanted a telescope for years and now the funds are available I have been looking at the Meade 8" LX90.

I was just wondering if anyone could give me some advice. Is this a good choice for a complete beginner or a bit over the top? What's it like to use? Reviews on the internet are a bit sketchy, and living in a relatively built up area (Coventry, UK) I'm not sure if this would have any effect.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Scott.

Hi Scott, welcome to SGL

As a beginner, you may not yet know the kind of objects you will want to observe the most, so a good option is to for good all rounder like an 8" dobsonian with a focal ratio of F6, these are simple to set up and use and will give good views of the moon, planets and deep sky objects like galaxies and nebula. The LX 90, whilst being a very good scope, has a focal ratio of F10 which puts it's optimum usefulness at the planetary end of things, also the goto can be a mixed blessing as it complicates setting up and if you want to learn about the sky, it does remove the "joy" of finding an object yourself.

with your budget you have a wide range of choices. as a beginner i would go for a dobsionian if you dont want to get into astrophotography as they will give you the best performance for your money, or maybe a skywatcher 200mm on an EQ mount which would give you the chance to add tracking motors later on if you do want to take photos. Also i wouldnt advise rushing into buying a scope, im sure you'l get plenty of advice on here

regards

rich

Hi Scott - welcome to the group.

EMS social group has a dark site near Jn24 of the M1 - you'd be welcome to join us at an observing session for a look at different scopes and further advice :D

Hi Scott,