NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

do this flat look right ?

ribuck

Hi all,

I'm just new to imaging and i've tried taking my first flat. I've calibrated my camera so that the flat background ADU value is approx 40% of the fully saturated value.

I used an EL display panel to take the flat for an evenly illuminated image, however the flat doesn't appear to be evenly illuminated as it seems to be focused on the left side of the image but the right side does appear to be properly illuminated.

The flat was 1.5 seconds as i have a 8300 based camera with a mechanical shutter. i've alsi uncluded the screen stretch info from maxim.

Rich.

screen stretch.JPG

flat.JPG

I really dont understand it, seeing that i bought an EL display which is placed directly over the end of my OTA.

I'm wondering if it could be more frosting issues on my rubbish qhy9 camera, as the normal light image is the same.

test image.JPG-for-web-LARGE.jpg

I guess it all depends what your light frames look like.

Do your light frames also have a dark right hand edge?

here is a light frame and a flat of mine from last night.

They have been opened in maxim and "View/ equalize screen stretch" applied (the screen stretch graph is from the flat).

My lights and flats have a darker left hand edge ( probably a light leak from the filter wheel) regardles of weather i am imaging with my 10" newt or 80Ed.

Mike.

post-13376-133877440812_thumb.jpg

Hi mike,

I see what you mean, but mine seems a lot more extreme. the odd thing is that my background adu value seems about right @ approx 24,000 and my bias value is around the 970 level.

My flat image time was 1.3 seconds i'm not sure if it's worth trying doing some new flats tonight. So if i'm reading your right, the darks bits on the right are light leak and the image has become totally saturated on the right side of the image ?

Rich.

I may not be light leak it could also be that you collimation is out.