Help getting started

I have to warn you that I really have no experience in this, I am a complete beginner but I've been told this is the place to ask :D

I've had a look through some threads and picked up a few things but I am a little confused still.

I don't have a big budget, perhaps around the £200 mark to get started, and I would like to take a look at planets and the moon, not too interested in deep space yet.

What I would really love is to take some pictures of what I see. I have a samsung WB500 camera which isn't an SLR, is it possible to use this with a scope to capture some half decent images, or is it SLRs only and expensive mounts?

Thank you for any help.

Hello Zapp, Welcome :D

I am also very new to this and have only recently posted here however, i have already had some very good comments and feedback from SGL, everyone is very helpful here!

You are actually in the same situation i was, and looking to spend the same amount. I had this scope recommended to me, very good reviews and brilliant for, moon, planets, and even DSO!

Have a look, very good piece of kit for the money and i think a good introduction to astronomy!

Reflectors - Skywatcher Explorer 130P SupaTrak AUTO

The suggest scope is great and haves goto.

But if you're just starting now, get some cheap binoculars, and download this map (scrool down the page a bit:

Skymaps.com - Publication Quality Sky Maps & Star Charts

Make a free star wheel:

SkyandTelescope.com - Family Fun - Make a Star Wheel!

Download Stellarium (free software that simulates your night sky, tells you where things are, let you zoom in, etc):

Stellarium

Then use the map/star wheel to start identifying the biggest constellations in the sky. Try to find the binoculars' objects listed with the map, for the next one or 2 months. This will make you learn the main constellations and how to star hop to find a Deep sky objects (DSOs).