Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Planetary/DSO CCD imaging question.

parallaxerr

Now I'm a complete noob as far as imaging goes really. I have taken some nice moon shots with a compact digital on a digiscoping adapter but that's about it. Having seen Saturn for the first time a few nights ago (WOW:eek:), I was desperate to get some good shots but the compact wasn't up to it so I checked out eBay for a CCD and won an auction for a Celestron NexImage camera for £59! Bargain!...

I've already started to read up on the mine field that is CCD imaging and have already decided to go down the RAW modification route but stumbled across a few articles about modifying for long exposure CCD photography. Am I right in saying this is only necessary for DSO imaging and not for planetary?

You are correct in thinking the LX mod is for DSO photography. Planetary and lunar photography require lots of images captured in the form of an AVI which is then processed in Registax or Avistack. DSO imaging requires longer single exposures to capture as much light as possible from the feint objects.

Peter

NexImage camera for £59! Bargain!... Indeed, well won I think.

I find that actually I'm always turning down the camera gain and shortening the exposures to stop the avi saturating on the planets!!

I think you will be pleasently surprised by just playing with the unmodified camera.

I also got all fired up for making all sorts of modifications but after a while never bothered.

I take 90s of avi at 5 frames per second and import into Registax and let it do its stuff. That's 450 images so I'm hard with setting the limits on which images get stacked and afford to throw a lot away. You are trying to just stack the fleeting images that coincided with a steady atmosphere.

90s is not going to have let surface features you are imaging move appreciably over the duration of the capture.