Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

sketching equipment

lepus

I've been thinking about which imaging route to go down and I've decided to go give myself a bit of a challenge (a challenge because I'm no artist!) and go down the sketching route.;)

So this a question for all you sketchers out there what equipment do you recommend for a newbie sketcher?

Kelly

Hi Kelly,

I certainly don't consider myself to be an artist either.

What I use is anything that comes to hand to make a prliminary sketch at the EP or of the view if I'm just using MKI eyeball.

I try to get as much detail, with annotation, as possible. I'll use pen/pencil & paper, if possible a clipboard too.

A red lamp to retain night adjustment is a good idea too.

Once I have made the preliminary sketch, I can then make an e-skectck using Gimp at my lesiure, although th sooner the better to get it while it's fresh.

I did buy a small sketching set whilst I was looking at Lidls 10x50 binoculars the other week, which will become part of my observing kit.

You don't need much tbh.

I use a ring-bound plain A5 notebook from WHSmith as my observing/sketching book and just use that - don't need fancy drawing paper I don't think. I use graphite pencils in a range of hardnesses, and a plastic rubber and a putty rubber. I just use an eyepiece cap or similar to make FOV circles, and an ordinary pencil sharpener.

Other useful things are a blending stick/stump/tortillon for smoothing and blending the pencil marks, and a stanley knife for sharpening a corner on your eraser to rub out finer things. Also, a can of hairspray or artist's fixative to seal the work afterwards and avoid smudging.

You can also experiment with other media - chalk on black paper, pastels etc., but I find graphite easiest to work with.

HTH

Andrew

Hi lepus