Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

HELLO I am new and in need of advice!

Hi! I am quite new to astronomy. Don't know much either. But I am very enthusiastic about photography, and I've already started doing some astrophotography and I quite like the experience.

I already have a mount, a skywatcher heq5pro with goto, and a digital dlsr and a couple of telephoto lenses and I think it is about time I bought myself a telescope.

As like many amateurs, I cannot afford a RC scope. Pity. Wish I could! :( And refractors in the price range I'm looking at aren't really all that much better than my camera lenses, so I don't think it's worth getting one. So I think I will settle for a reflector.

As many of us learn with time, you tend to get what you pay for. That is why I want to try and get a good telescope, one that lasts and my children can use too when they grow, even though it hurts my wallet.

After quite some time doing some research on scopes, I think a good compromise would be a schmidt newtonian telescope like the lxd75 from meade. The problem is that I can't find anywhere where I can purchase just the tube as it seems to be sold bundled with a mount, which I don't need. Does anybody know of a telescope of this sort, maybe a different make, that can be purchased seperately? Doesn't anybody else make this type of scope?

Here's another question regarding coma. Is the coma on a standard newtonian really that bad? I have read that the coma distortion gets worse away from the center of the field of view, and with low f ratio numbers too. Does this mean that, even using large amplification, the center of the frame would be coma free? Are coma correctors any good?

I think maksutov, cassegrains and other common types aren't luminous enough for good astrophotography.

So, as you can see, I am quite doubtful. Newtonians seem to be the best regarding quality/aperture/money ratio. What should I do?:)