Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

200p Planetary Eyepiece

I'm in a position to buy a nice planetary eyepiece for my 200p, I was thinking of the baader, either hyperion or orthoscopic, I was considering the 5mm in either of these, anyone have experience of either of these or can throw others into the mix?

Thanks

The baader orthoscopic haves excelent contrast and light transmission which helps you to get any detail the seeing conditions allow.

As a down side, the field of view is narrow and it haves a very short eye relief wish makes it not so comfortable to use . Very hard to use if you need glasses to observe. I have no experience with the hyperion but judging by the specs it should give you a more confortable EP but loose a bit of light transmission as it haves more glass elements and maybe some loss in detail too.

University Optics orthos (Circle-T in uk) can be a bit cheaper then the baader and are known to be good too.

I have a 5mm Hyperion and consider it a bit of a dud. The 13mm is great - in fairnewss to the 5mm its better than a Plossl cos I find the eye relief on Plossls a real problem and I'd guess an orthoscopic might be as bad.

I was reccomended a WO SPL eyepiece for budget planetary - might be food for thought for you.

OK, go on, what's a WO SPL then? Ahh, William Optics I do wish you'd stop talking in code!

EDIT

hmm, they only seem to be in 3, 6 and 12.5 mm though, would a 3 be a bit much for my 200p?

Just seem some pentax ones, think i'll be giving those a miss!!

I had the 200P for a while and I used 5mm most often, but on good nights I used 4 and even 3mm eyepieces from time to time when the seeing was good.