NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

DSLR imaging.

Morning all,

I want to start taking some astro pictures which I have zero experience at doing. I've three options available to me and would love some feedback on each with regards to the best way to start out.

First option, using my dslr on my Explorer 300P by way of a t-ring and 2" adapter.

Second option, piggy back my DSLR on the 300P and use my 75-300mm telephoto lens.

Third option, invest in 66mm, 72mm or 80mm ED Apo.

Will going the third route really provide me with much more than using my 300mm telelphoto lens?

The first option is probably the simplest at the moment but I did have some problems with my 300P being slightly too long and not being able to achieve focus, this was reported by the S@N magazine when they reviewed the scope back in 2008 and I have the one that they reviewed which takes me onto options 2 and 3 but before investing in an ED Apo I'd like to hear that there are deffinite advantages to doing so.

Apologies if my question has an obvious answer, but I would really value hearing from experienced imagers on this.

Until an experienced imager comes along, I'll say start with the camera lens and learn the tricks. That's what I'm doing, slowly. Then move into APO wide-fields and finally on to the long-focal-length big apertures.