NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Help with Imaging mars and stars

Hi guys, Im a total newbie to astrophotography and having problems getting any good shots. The best i can do at the moment i get a blurred disk for mars which is the image below. my gear is listed in my signature. anyone know where i am going wrong here? Whats the best configuration of lenses etc? Im using the CCD imager (celestron say to treat this as 5mm) and a x2 barlow. I was under the impression with a 8inch newtonian that you could get good shots. Iv seen some beauties on the net from other people with the same scope.

Thanks

Dave

2mo9rhx.jpg

I'm no expert, but I was having the same problem with Mars using the neximage. I was getting piccies like the first one I've attached. The problem was overexposure. What I finally hit on was adjusting the settings so that Mars is showing as much detail as possible on the screen, then reduce the shutter speed by one setting down (e.g. 1/10s to 1/25s) and then take the avi. When you process it, (I was using registax 5) it looks incredibley dark, but if you increase the upper brightness slider on the bottom right of the 'wavelet' tab so that it is about the same position as the slider immediately below it, it produces a result like the second piccie I've attached. With an 8" you should get better results than my 6".

Hope this helps.

Whats the best configuration of lenses etc? Im using the CCD imager (celestron say to treat this as 5mm) and a x2 barlow.

Forget about the "5mm", to image Mars you need a focal ratio is excess of f/20 - in good seeing people are using f/40 to f/60. Your 2x barlow gives you only f/10, your image is going to be small.

But the really hard part about planetary imaging is getting the focus right. Probably best to focus on a bright star then move to Mars (OK it takes some finding at f/40, a well aligned 50mm finder is good here).