Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Skywatcher Heritage 130p x2 Barlow total newbie question

Apologies in advance for my utter ignorance

I have had my first clear evening since I took delivery of my 'scope this evening and have viewed the moon in both eye pieces I have, bar the barlow as I was unsure how it was supposed to be used.

My question is this - When you place the eyepiece into the holder minus the barlow moving it in and out before tightening the screws betters the focus; now with the barlow in place, do I need to adjust the barlow in the same way or the eyepiece that is in the barlow, or both?

:hello2:

I just had to have that as my username, didn't I?

Suits you to a tea mate :hello2:

Have you had a chance to try the 'scope at night yet?

I used mine properly for the first time over night, and I noticed a little of what you were describing, but I put it down to nothing more than being unable to fully relax my 'other' eye.

I found wearing a blindfold, (which I have for reasons I wont go into here), :) and obviously just covering up the one eye with it helped a lot as the muscles relax, and my vision was a lot, lot clearer.

Suits you to a tea mate :hello2:

Have you had a chance to try the 'scope at night yet?

I used mine properly for the first time over night, and I noticed a little of what you were describing, but I put it down to nothing more than being unable to fully relax my 'other' eye.

I found wearing a blindfold, (which I have for reasons I wont go into here), :) and obviously just covering up the one eye with it helped a lot as the muscles relax, and my vision was a lot, lot clearer.

No I have not used mine at night yet. I am going to get an erecting prism so I can see the corrected image of a television mast on top of the Wrekin about nine miles away, which I can then focus on properly.

One lesson learned - don't try to view the night sky with an unfocussed scope!

You want to change your username to: Cap'n Sparrow!:)