Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Small 'observatory'

MishMich

I'm reluctant to call what I am looking to do an 'observatory'. I am quite new to astronomy, and having started out a couple of months ago with a Celestron Nexstar 102 SLT, I have put together a rig cobbled together with s/h or ex-demo items that consists of an HEQ5 (which I'll upgrade to synscan some day), SPX 200 f/6, and Celestron Onyx 80 EDF. The weather has given me little opportunity to test the equipment, but it is a huge improvement over the 102 SLT. However, I have also found that storing this in the conservatory is far from ideal - as it leaks and so far I've not had a break in the clouds long enough to do a polar alignment.

So, I am looking at some kind of shed for the equipment, but I don't want a full-size observatory for a few reasons - cannot justify the cost, we are moving to the other side of the world in a year or so, and the only decent spot for observing would not accommodate an observatory (it would be in the middle of the garden, near the conservatory). So, because this is to be a temporary structure, primarily for storing and protecting the equipment, I don't want a pier, and I don't want it to be larger that 4' x 6', running lengthways parallel with the boundary fence, seated on decking, as low as possible, without a roll-off roof, but some means of access from the house side of the 4' side, the highest side facing north alonside the fence, being a pent sloping away from for the northern boundary, with a roof that is hinged in the middle and can fold right back, and a section at the front that is hinged and folds down.