Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Ambitious?

I've just got back inside after trying to look at the Nebula in orion, I've seen what looked like two bright stars with a fuzzy patch around it, have I got what I wanted or have I missed it? I looked at it on stellarium before I went out and was expecting a liitle more should we say! I am using a Teleskop 60mm Refractor with 17mm Plossl eyepiece, I'm really new to this and have just found out today that I need glasses!!! Anyway specs are being built but have I seen it or have a totally missed what I was aiming for?

Matt

Sounds like you got it to me. i've got a 130mm and what i see is a slightly bigger version of what you saw, though the fuzzy patch you describe is definitely cloudy nebulous material rather than just fuzz.

I've just got back inside after trying to look at the Nebula in orion, I've seen what looked like two bright stars with a fuzzy patch around it, have I got what I wanted or have I missed it? I looked at it on stellarium before I went out and was expecting a liitle more should we say! I am using a Teleskop 60mm Refractor with 17mm Plossl eyepiece, I'm really new to this and have just found out today that I need glasses!!! Anyway specs are being built but have I seen it or have a totally missed what I was aiming for?

Matt

Sounds like it could have been M42 (the Orion Nebula). You won't see anything like the pictures (or on Stellarium) through a 60mm scope though I'm afraid - the zoomed in Stellarium view of the nebula is about what I see in my 12" scope on a decent night.

John

You did not say the focal length of your scope, I would assume it's 600 to 900mm.

Using a 17mm EP would give you a lot of magnification and a small field of view for M42 - it is a big object, twice the size of the Moon. If you have a 25mm EP it would give you a better overall view.

Mike