Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

confused...... as always

Hi goatshoes :)

I'm sorry but I can't help you on the CCD front. Hopefully some of our imagers will come forward with some suggestions.

On the 3x barlow, I purchased one from FLO (Tal 3x barlow) a while back and it has been my best purchase yet! It has provided stunning planetary observing session and has been great for splitting doubles - especially the famous double double Epsilon Lyrae. Just be careful that when using it you aren't getting to the limit of your scope's magnification - even if your scope can take higher mag, the seeing might not be able to. Just experiment :grin: I have found that working with 60-70% of my scope's total available magnification has afforded me the best views.

So yes, IMO, go for the 3x barlow :)

Hi GS, are you new to astrophotography or are you experienced? You may want to start with a digital SLR as I have been using for many years for deepsky and I have no plans to 'upgrade' as I'm not always convinced that going to a cooled CCD is always that. Most people use Canon EOS with the advantage that you can take it to the zoo or a wedding.

If you are planning on lunar or planetary imaging a webcam or a (meade, celestron etc) planetary imager is a good option (around the £150 mark) - or of course a ccd.

But anyway, let us know the level you are or want and i'll be happy to help.

Hi GS, just noted from another thread that you already use one but that you get star trails. To be honest if I were you get a better tracking (ideally german equatorial mount) and/or (if your mount is ok) autoguider. If you get trails, a CCD won't help!