Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Reet, all set for tonight

Keithp

Good evening all,

Scopes out, batteries on charge. The cloud, according to the Met is due to move off east, its 20:00 and the sun's trying to poke through....I'm hopeful...

Got the IR remote for the camera so tonight is going to be the first serious attempt at a DSO with 30+ seconds exposure. Tested all the kit and it works..sooo

Fingers crossed:hello2:

I'll put the first one up here.

I'm on MSN if anyone's out there. PM me if you want to set up with MSM.

Regards

All

Keithp

Polar aligned, crack on if I did it right,..all set. Trying to sort out where to go tonight. It's still twilight and no stars visible by the naked eye...

Fired up sky6 and having a look around.

yo excited or what!:)

well I just did a 3 minute exposure...and no star trails...next one is five m:hello2:inutes...taking bets on star trails....

It's amazing the detail being picked up..total newbie here

wish the moon would either show itself or go away!

got me a couple of 5 min exposures...and no star trails. Shame M31 is not quite high enough yet, maybe give it another hour and it might be where I can see it.

How long do you need to get anything out of orions belt, the third lower star that is, it's nicely in position at the moment. Just got all the batteries on charge again.. back in an hour

yep, South Somerset/North Dorset... your question suggests I'm identifying something incorrectly... is orions belt not due south at the moment? I got three stars top right to bottom left in a diagonal...ah just realised... I boobed:o

not what I think I'm looking at it's Altair in the middle, whoops

:iamwithstupid:total newbie shootin anything that don't move

i was questioning my sanity....

yup its altair, in aquila. a few dark nebs in there.....

why not NGC7000 just left of deneb, or shoot the area around gamma cyg, or the veil neb. you could do m27....